Who's Who in Local Government

Hardeman County

Chancery Court Clerk

Hardeman County is located in the 25th Judicial District for the State of Tennessee. The remaining counties in this district are Fayette, McNairy, Tipton, and Lauderdale counties. There are two chancellors who serve this area. These chancellors are the Honorable William C. Cole of Atoka and the Honorable Martha B. Brasfield of Covington. Most of the hearings include divorces, commitments, adoptions, worker's compensation, boundary disputes, contracts, partition suits, (sales of land), probate matters, name changes, child support and domestic matters.

Janice M. Bodiford, Clerk and Master

Hardeman County Courthouse
PO Box 45
Bolivar, TN 38008

Phone: (731) 658-3142
Fax: (731) 658-4580
Email: janice.bodiford@tncourts.gov

Office Hours

  • Monday - Friday, 8:30am - 4:30pm


  • Brenda Henson
  • Janet Farris
  • Teresa Howell


  • Acceptance agent for passports
  • Small estate affidavits



  • Active member of Tennessee State Court Clerks Association
  • Active member of County Officials Association of Tennessee
  • West Tennessee State Court Clerk's President (2009)