Who's Who in Local Government

Hardeman County

Highway Department

The mission of the Highway Department is to maintain the best roads possible with the allocated monies available by the most efficient and economical means possible. The highway department is responsible for 653 miles of county roads and 125 bridges. Tennessee's Uniform Highways Laws and a private act for Hardeman County governs the department for all roads that are classified as a county maintained road. In our efforts to prepare this department for the 21st century, Hardeman county is the first to operate its own asphalt plant since 1973.

David Sipes, Superintendent

401 Fairgrounds St
Bolivar, TN 38008

Phone: (731) 658-5102 or 658-7554
Fax: (731) 658-2583
Email: countydept@bellsouth.net

Office Hours

  • Monday - Thursday, 6:00am - 4:30pm


  • James Shields - Assistant Superintendent
  • Geri Nuckolls - Office Administrator

County Road Supervisors

The county is divided into three highway districts with an elected supervisor heading each district:

  • John Mitchell - District I, Chairman of the Board
  • Kenny Pulse - District II
  • Matt Knight - District III


  • County road maintenance
  • Bridge maintenance
  • Emergency service for road situations (24 hour on-call)
  • Right of Way maintenance
  • Signage for County roads